Euro 2020 Special

Dream Team: All-Time Eleven of the Indian T20 League

Another day, another dream team on its way, this time from the most entertaining domestic T20 League in the world. We have put our heads together to identify those world-class players who deserve to being included in the All-time eleven of the Indian T20 League. We’ve taken into account the statistics of these players over the twelve illustrious years of the Indian T20 League alongside the impact these individuals have had on the league and success of their respective teams.

Having adhered to the four foreign players rule of the competition, here’s how our All-time eleven shapes up. Let us know what you think!


CHRIS GAYLE (Opening Batsman)

Innings – 124 | Runs – 4484 | Average – 41.13 | Strike Rate – 151.02 | 100s – 6

Chris Gayle is one of those players on this list who is an automatic selection in the all-time eleven dream team. He’s arguably the best T20 batsman of all time and has broken all batting records possible in the Indian T20 League. The Jamaican doesn’t believe in taking singles and has only one motive when facing the bowler, that is to whack the ball as hard as he can. He has a mammoth total of 326 sixes in the tournament, that is a whopping 1,956 runs just off sixes. The self-acclaimed ‘Universe Boss’ managed to score 175* in a single inning and that stands as the highest score in a single innings till date. In 124 innings over the years, Gayle has managed to score 4484 runs at an average of 41.13 and strikes at 151.02 with a record six centuries to his name. These stats tell us that he is the absolute pinnacle of T20 batting.


ROHIT SHARMA (Opening Batsman)

Innings – 183 | Runs – 4898 | Average – 31.60 | Strike Rate – 130.82 | 100s – 1

Five-time Indian T20 League winner, Rohit Sharma has been brilliant in the tournament since the inception of the competition in 2008. He has scored 4898 runs in the competition in 183 innings at an average of 31.60 and strike rate of 130.82, with one century to his name in the tournament. Not to forget his hat-trick in the 2009 edition. He’s the only player in the Indian T20 League to score a hundred and pick up a hat-trick, so he is a natural fit as an opener in the all-time Indian T20 League dream team.


VIRAT KOHLI (Middle Order Batsman)

Innings – 169 | Runs – 5412 | Average – 37.84 | Strike Rate – 131.61 | 100s – 5

Definitely the best white-ball player of this generation, he’s arguably the most all-rounder batsman in this line-up and gets his favourite number three spot in our all-time eleven. With 5412 runs in 169 innings at an average of 37.84 and a strike rate of 131.62, King Kohli also has five centuries to his name. Kohli absolutely dominated the 2016 season with four centuries in one single season – an all-time record in itself. The only thing which goes against him is that he hasn’t won the tournament in his career but that’s a debate for another day.


SURESH RAINA (Middle Order Batsman)

Innings – 189 | Runs – 5368 | Average – 33.34 | Strike Rate – 137.11 | 100s – 1

Mr IPL as he is fondly called by his Chennai fans, Suresh Raina is again an automatic pick when anybody is picking an all-time Indian T20 League team. Raina has been with the Chennai franchise since the first year and also captained the Gujarat team when Chennai was serving their suspension from the league. He has helped Chennai lift three Indian T20 League titles and has been fantastic from the word go. He is second on the all-time highest run-getter list with 5368 runs in 189 innings. He averages 33.34 and strikes at 137.11, with a single century to go along with these remarkable stats.


AB DE VILLIERS (Middle Order Batsman)

Innings – 142 | Runs – 4395 | Average – 39.95 | Strike Rate – 151.23 | 100s – 3

The man who can do absolutely anything on the cricket field, Mr 360 is our number five batsman in the dream team. He’s another player who revolutionized T20 cricket, whether it was with the bat or on the field. He’s been a star since the start of the league with 4395 runs at an average of 39.95 and a brilliant strike rate of 151.23. He also has scored three big centuries in his 12 years in the competition.


MS DHONI (Wicketkeeper-Batsman, Captain)

Innings – 170 | Runs – 4432 | Average – 42.20 | Strike Rate – 137.85 | 50s – 23

Another no-brainer, MS Dhoni is the captain of our dream team. In a team with multilingual backgrounds and different cultures, Dhoni is exactly the kind of person you need to lead the team to success. A captain who changed how others approached the format, under his leadership, Chennai have always reached the knockout stage of the competition. His stats are up there with the best as well, with 4432 runs at an average of 42.20 and strike rate of 137.85. The winner of three Indian T20 League titles, Chennai under him also boasts of having the best win percentage amongst all the current teams.


DWAYNE BRAVO (All-rounder)

Matches – 134 | Runs – 1483 | Wickets – 147 | Economy – 8.39

An amazing T20 cricketer, he has won many matches single-handedly for many franchises. He is the leading wicket-taker in T20 cricket across the world and is a death-over specialist. He is quite handy with the bat as well, having scored 1483 runs in the competition. His bowling has improved tremendously over the years and he is the only all-rounder to pick up 100+ wickets and score 1000+ runs in the competition. He adds the much-needed balance to the squad and acts as the fifth bowling option in the team.



Innings – 157 | Wickets – 150 | Average – 26.44 | Strike Rate – 22.4 | Economy – 7.05

Winner of four Indian T20 League titles, Harbhajan Singh is our sole spinner in the squad. He holds the record of most dot balls in the tournament’s history and is the third-highest wicket-taker with 157 wickets. He has a wonderful average of 26.44 and a remarkable economy of 7.05. He is Mr Dependable of the competition and adds value with the bat as well if needed.



Innings – 117 | Wickets – 133 | Average – 23.71 | Strike Rate – 19.6 | Economy – 7.24

Purple Cap winner in two consecutive years, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is an all-round option with the ball. He’s one of the rare ones who can swing the new ball both ways and can always come back in the death overs and be miserly. He has been around since 2011 and has picked up 133 wickets at an outstanding strike rate of 19.6. His economy is not bad either considering he bowls at the death regularly. He’ll take the new ball for our team.



Innings – 77 | Wickets – 82 | Average – 26.60 | Strike Rate – 21.1 | Economy – 7.55

The only player in the team whose sample size of matches is below 100 but still, he qualifies as one of the best in the business. He made his debut in 2013 and hasn’t looked back ever since. In 77 matches, Bumrah has picked up 82 wickets at a good strike rate and average. He’s another death bowling specialist and can bowl with the new ball as well. He’s often used in the middle overs to pick up key wickets. So one with the new ball, one in the middle and two at the death will be ideal for Bumrah to have the maximum impact for our dream team.



Innings – 122 | Wickets – 170 | Average – 19.8 | Strike Rate – 16.6 | Economy – 7.14

The best bowler this competition has ever seen, Malinga is the leading wicket-taker of the competition with 170 wickets to his name. He has the best average amongst bowlers with 50 matches or more and a remarkable economy of 7.14 to go along with it. His strike rate of 16.62 is absolutely unreal for a player who has played 122 matches. He is the GOAT of T20 bowling and with him in the team, expect some toe crushers early on as well as in the last part of the innings.

Read: Which Top World Athletes Make it to our Kabaddi Dream Team?




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments