Euro 2020 Special

Understanding the Euro 2020 Schedule and Venues

The UEFA Euro 2020 schedule has been out for quite some time though there were confusions regarding the venues considering the ongoing pandemic. However, recently, it has been confirmed that the tournament is being held across the continent for the first time in the competition’s 60-year history. There are 11 host cities in all and the tournament kicks off on June 11, with the all-important final of the month-long tournament to be played on July 11 at the Wembley Stadium, England.

The format will be similar to UEFA Euro 2016. The top two in each of the six groups will proceed to the Round of 16 along with the four best third-placed finishers. Let’s understand the Euro 2020 schedule group-wise.


Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

The matches in Group A of Euro 2020 are scheduled to take place at the Olimpico in Rome, Italy as well as the Baku Olympic Stadium in Azerbaijan. Italy will play all its matches in Rome while the remaining three games in the group will be played in Azerbaijan. Both the Olimpico in Roma and Baku Olympic Stadium will also host a Quarterfinal match each.


Group B: Russia, Denmark, Finland, Belgium

Saint-Petersburg Stadium in Russia as well as the Copenhagen Stadium in Denmark will host all six matches from Group B of the Euro 2020. Denmark will play all its matches in Copenhagen while the Saint-Petersburg Stadium will play hosts to three matches from Group E as well. The Copenhagen Stadium is due to host a Round of 16 match and then we’ll move to Russia for a Quarterfinal encounter.


Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

The matches from Group C are divided equally between the Johan Cryuff Arena in Amsterdam and National Arena Bucharest in Romania. The Dutch team will have all matches played at their home ground in Amsterdam while the other three teams will have to travel between Amsterdam and Romania. The two stadiums will also host a match from the Round of 16 as well.


Group D: England, Scotland, Croatia, Czech Republic

The matches from Group D are equally divided between the Wembley Stadium in London, England and Hampden Park, Glasgow in Scotland. England will play all home matches in this group while the other three teams have matches divided in these two stadiums. Wembley Stadium has also been given the honours of hosting the all-important Semi-Finals and the Final on July 11.


Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

As mentioned earlier, half of the matches from Group E would be played in Russia and the other half would take place in Seville, Spain. Spain will play their home matches at the La Cartuja Stadium in Seville and the stadium will also play host to a Round of 16 match on June 27.


Group F: Germany, Hungary, Portugal, France

And finally the group of death with three past winners in Germany, Portugal and France all competing in the same group. The matches from Group F are equally distributed between the Football Arena in Munich and the Puskas Arena in Budapest. Team Germany will not have to travel during the group stage as their match against the fellow hosts Hungary is also scheduled to take place in Munich. The Puskas Arena will host a Round of 16 game while the Munich Stadium has been granted a Quarterfinal match.

Read: A Look At Changes Proposed By UEFA For 2024 Champions League




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.