Euro 2020 Special

Women’s Indian T20 League: Format, Roster Rules and All You Need to Know

The women’s Indian T20 League has finally come to fruition after years of operating with a three-team five-match exhibition tournament within the men’s Indian T20 League schedule.

As per the BCCI’s statement on October 18, the plan to conduct the women’s Indian T20 League was approved by the general body led by new president Roger Binny.

The window for the new women’s T20 tournament is set for March 2023, following the conclusion of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.


Roster size and rules

There will be a tentative total of five teams in the women’s Indian T20 League, with a roster size of 18 players. Each side won’t have more than six overseas players (five from full member teams of the ICC and one associate member from the ICC).


Format and tournament structure

The inaugural women’s Indian T20 League will consist of 22 matches. Each team will play the other sides twice during the league phase (20 matches), following which the top-ranked team will qualify directly for the final.

The second and third-ranked teams in the league phase will clash in an Eliminator match to decide the second side for the women’s Indian T20 League final.


Teams and venues

Unlike the policy of franchises bidding for teams in the men’s Indian T20 League, the BCCI has come up with two proposed plans to sell the ownership of the five participating teams.

A: The BCCI will sell teams across six zones spanning the country, which are Dharamsala/Jammu (North zone), Pune/Rajkot (West), Indore/Nagpur/Raipur (Central), Ranchi/Cuttack (East), Kochi/Visakhapatnam (South) and Guwahati (North-East).

B: The BCCI will sell teams without having a home base, and the scheduled matches to be played at venues (Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai) that are often used for the men’s Indian T20 League.


Where to watch women’s Indian T20 League 2023 in India?

The women’s Indian T20 League 2023 will likely be telecast live and exclusive in India on the Star Sports network.




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.