Euro 2020 Special

T20 World Cup Format to be Revised


No sooner has the dust settled on the 2022 World Cup than plans are being made for the next version, which will take place in two years’ time with the West Indies and the USA co-hosting it.

Whilst the number of teams competing in the final itself will not change the format has been altered from that used in the last two versions of the tournament.

The intention is now to hold T20 World Cups every two years (the changes to the cricketing calendar occasioned by the global pandemic meant that there were back to back tournaments in 2021and 2022).


Existing Format

The format used in 2022 (and last year as well) the tournament began with first round, comprised of teams that had finished 9th to 12th in the previous World Cup, plus teams that had made the finals after coming through qualifying competitions.

They were split into two groups of four, and the top two teams in each group then advanced to the Super 12 stage of the competition, joining the eight teams that had already automatically qualified, based on their previous World Cup performance.

Again they were split into two groups, comprising six teams each, with the top two in each group progressing through to the semi-finals.


New format

Under the new format, the teams will initially be split into four groups of five teams, who will play each other in on a round robin basis. The top two in each group will then progress to a Super Eight competition, where, again, there will be two groups, with the two teams in each advancing to the final.

The new format means that there is more jeopardy for some of the more established nations earlier in the competition. The 2022 World Cup produced its fair share of shocks – The West Indies losing to Scotland and Ireland, the Irish beating England, and Namibia beating Sri Lanka, for example – and the change seems to offer the potential for more upsets like that, when sides are still feeling their way into tournaments.

And, it also guarantees some of the tournament minnows one more game in the first group stage.


Who has qualified already

The identity of 12 of the teams that will be competing in 2024 is already known. As co-hosts West Indies and the USA have automatically qualified, and they have been joined by the eight teams that finished in the top eight of this year’s tournament – England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia and the Netherlands.

In addition, by virtue of the fact that they were the next best placed in the ICC T20 rankings on their cut-off date of November 14th, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have also guaranteed their places in the tournament.

Regional qualifiers will be used to determine the eight other teams.


Why the USA?

Although the USA are currently ranked just 26th in the ICC T20 rankings, developing the game there is regarded as a major priority for the ICC, because it represents a huge potential market, especially given the large diaspora communities from the Indian sub-continent.

Next year they will be launching their own T20 competition – the Pro T20 League – and giving them co-hosting rights to such a prestigious international tournament is very much part of a growing trend.


2022 Fall-Out Continues

Meanwhile the fall-out from the 2022 tournament continues. India’s failure to reach the final has seen the BCCI wield the axe, sacking their entire selection committee.

And the West Indies shock early exit from the tournament has led to the convening of a panel, whose members include ex-captain Brian Lara, to review all aspects of the Caribbean nation’s preparation and performance in Australia.

One man who is not waiting for the findings of the panel is their white ball captain Nicholas Pooran who has resigned from the job.

He only assumed the role in May following the retirement of Kieron Pollard, but feels that it in the best interests of the team if he steps away now, giving the West Indies board time to find a replacement.  He will continue to make himself available as a player.

Potential candidates for the job include Rovman Powell, vice skipper of the T20I side, or Shai Hope, who has the same job with the ODI side.




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.