Euro 2020 Special

Most Runs Conceded by a Bowler in a T20I Over

Mohammad Nawaz was the villain of the piece for Pakistan in their T20I World Cup match against India on Sunday.

The spinner was asked to bowl the final over with India still needing 16 runs to win, but the pressure got too him. Although he took two wickets, he also bowled two wides as well, giving India free hits and extra balls which eventually proved to be decisive.

If he is after consolation, though, he can take comfort that he does not even come close to making the record books for the most runs conceded off a T20I over.


Stuart Broad (36 runs)

England’s Stuart Broad may be the fifth best wicket taker of all time in test cricket, but one record he is not so proud of is that no man has conceded more runs than him in a T20I international.

In the first World Cup which was played in South Africa in 2007, India met England in the group stage of the competition. His four overs cost him 60 runs and he went wicketless, but it was the six consecutive balls he bowled to Yuvraj Singh that live long in the memory.

The left-hander smashed each of them over the boundary rope for a maximum. That proved to be the difference between the two sides as India won by 18 runs and went on to win the Cup for the first – and to date – only time in their history,


Akila Dananjaya (36 runs)

For nearly 14 years, Broad was the sole owner of that unwanted record until Sri Lankan leg break bowler decided to join his exclusive club.

In 2017, the West Indies were hosting Sri Lanka in the first T20I in Antigua and Dananjaya was having a good match, having just taken a hat-trick in his previous over. However, all-rounder Kieron Pollard soon wiped the smile off his face, smashing all six balls into the stands.

It ruined the spinner’s figures and his side lost by 4 wickets.


Shivam Dube (34 runs)

India’s Shivam Dube was given just the one over against New Zealand in their T20I played at Mount Maunganui the previous year, but he certainly made it an interesting one.

His first two balls to Tim Seifert were smashed for 6 and that was followed by a four. Seifert took a single off the next ball which brought Ross Taylor onto strike. Dube then bowled a no ball before Taylor clubbed the remaining two deliveries for six. 34 runs in all had been conceded from the over.

Fortunately for Dube, the rest of the team spared his blushes and they still won by 7 wickets.


Nasum Ahmed (34 runs)

Nasum Ahmed of Bangladesh equalled Dube’s record just two months ago playing against Zimbabwe in Harare. It was the 15th over of the Zimbabwe innings when the left-armed spinner came into bowl to Ryan Burl.

The first tour balls were despatched on the leg side for six. Burl had to settle for just a four off the fifth ball, but concluded the over with another six.

He set a record in the process for the most runs scored by a Zimbabwean in an over in T20I cricket. Zimbabwe won the match by 10 runs in the end.


Andile Phehlukwayo (33 runs)

A month earlier, it had been South African all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo who had bowled an over that he will not want to look back on with any fondness.

He had bowled well up to that point in the match against England at Bristol, but things then fell apart when he was asked to deliver the 18th over.

First, English batter Jonny Bairstow hit him for two sixes. Then Phehlukwayo threw in a couple of wides and then conceded a single, which brought Moeen Ali to the crease. He clubbed the last three balls for six.

England went on to make their second ever highest T20I score and won the match by 41 runs.


The 32 club

No fewer than 4 men have conceded 32 runs in a T20I over – Wayne Parnell of South Africa, Izatullah Dawlatzai of Afghanistan, Stuart Binny (son of the recently elected BCCI President Roger of India), and Max O’Dowd of the Netherlands.

By a quirk of fate, it was the same player – Jos Buttler of England – who inflicted the damage in the figures of both Parnell and Dawlatzai.




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.