Euro 2020 Special

Indian T20 League Retentions and Releases

The ten Indian T20 league teams have released their lists of retained and released players, and now know how much they have to spend in the mini-auction in December (although this could be augmented by swaps before then).

And there are a few big names who look like they may not be playing in the 2023 version of the tournament, or, if they do, it will be for a new franchise.


Pat Cummins

Australia fast bowler was the most expensive player in last year’s auction when the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) paid INR 7.25 crore for him. But he has informed the franchise that the will not play for them next year. He has just been made Australian ODI skipper in addition to his existing role as test captain, and feels he needs to rest because of a packed international schedule that includes an Ashes Series and the World Cup.


Alex Hales

Alex Hales may just have won the World Cup with England but he will not be playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2023 edition of the league. Having already signed up for franchise leagues in South Africa, Pakistan and UAE, he feels that he just does not have the bandwidth to take on any more commitments.


Chris Jordan

Like Hales, Chris Jordan is now a World Cup winner, but he is now looking for another franchise after being released by the Chennai Super Kings. Highly prized as a death bowler, Jordan can expect to be picked up by another franchise next month.


Kane Williamson

After eight years with the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Kane Williamson has been released by the franchise.

He had played 76 matches and captained them 46 times, and had been their most expensive player in the 2022 campaign. That though, was disappointing for both the team and Williamson personally.

SRH could only finish eighth in the table and managed just six wins all season, whilst Williamson, who was nursing an elbow injury, was in poor form with the bat, and scored just 216 runs in 13 innings at an average of less than 20.

Releasing Williamson frees up a considerable amount of purse for SRH ahead of the mini-auction, although the option of then buying him back again remains on the table.


Mayank Agarwal

Another side to release a former captain was the Punjab Kings, in the shape of Mayank Agarwal.

It follows the decision earlier this month to replace Agarwal as skipper with Shikhar Dhawan, who the franchise bought for INR 8.25 crore in last year’s mega auction.

Agarwal, like Williamson, has paid the price for both collective and individual under-performance last season. Despite having a strong side, the Kings could only finish sixth in the table and missed out on a play-off spot. He also struggled, personally, making just 196 in 13 matches at an average of just 16.33.

He has been playing in the Indian T20 league since 2011, and his career playing IPL cricket is by no means over. On his day he can be an explosive batter and is likely to be a good catch for another franchise in the forthcoming auction.


Kieron Pollard

West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard has decided to retire from the Indian T20 league having spent 13 years with the Mumbai Indians (MI), during which time he helped them win five titles. With the MI, though, in transition, he could not see a place for himself in the team going forward and could not envisage himself playing for another franchise.

However, the MI are not losing his services altogether. He is taking up a new role with them as batting coach.


Dwayne Bravo

No bowler has taken as many wickets in T20 cricket as West Indian Dwayne Bravo, but, after 11 years with the Chennai Super Kings, they have ended their relationship. Bravo is now 39, and it is felt time to turn to younger options, although, again, the option to re-sign him has not been ruled out altogether.


Jason Roy

It has been a difficult few months for Jason Roy. The opener was dropped from the England T20 squad, and missed out on World Cup glory as a result (he’s taking his place in the side). And now he has become the only player released by last year’s surprise champions, the Gujarat Titans.




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.