Things To Expect From Indian T20 League 2022 Final

So it all boils down to the last forty overs left in the campaign as Team Gujarat is ready to take on Team Rajasthan in the Indian T20 League 2022 final. Both teams have been the standout ones this season and deservedly find themselves in this finale.

This is the eighth time since the playoffs were introduced in the Indian T20 League that the table-toppers will meet again in the final. This will be the first time in the history of the competition that two non-international captains will lead their teams in this all-important game and the average age of the two captains, Sanju Samson and Hardik Pandya, is the lowest ever in an Indian T20 League final.

So with some key points already made, let’s get into what the fans can expect from the Indian T20 League 2022 final. We’ll try to break it down in this piece.



Hardik Pandya has by far been the best leader in the 2022 season. He has been an inspirational captain for the new franchise and his boys have reacted wonderfully well throughout the campaign.

They have come up against Team Rajasthan twice now in the 2022 season and both times Gujarat have had the upper hand. Pandya himself has put in some solid performances with the bat against this particular opposition and Gujarat fans will be hoping for him to do the same in the final as well.

Team Gujarat can be labelled as the master chasers this season as they have managed to win seven out of the eight games they were chasing and on these seven occasions, they have taken the game deep into the 20th over and won the game. David Miller, Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan need to be given the credit for their chasing abilities as the trio has made Gujarat the best chasing team this season.

Mohammed Shami, their star new-ball bowler has wreaked havoc in the powerplay more often than not. Hardik Pandya has himself taken the new ball plenty of times while their rookie left-arm pacer Yash Dayal has also been effective with the new ball. These bowlers have made Gujarat the best bowling unit in the first six overs of the game. The matchup between Shami and Jos Buttler can be key in the Indian T20 League 2022 final.

If Shami can’t get the prized wicket of Buttler then Rashid Khan is the best alternative. The Gujarat spinner has had an upper hand in the battle against Buttler having got him out thrice previously. Buttler tends to play Rashid cautiously and that is indicative of his strike rate below 100 against the leg spinner. In Qualifier 1 we saw Rashid go for just 15 runs in his four overs in a match where the run rate was above 9 on most occasions.

Predicted XI: Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya ©, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, R Sai Kishore, Mohammed Shami, Lockie Ferguson



Having lost the first qualifier against Gujarat, Team Rajasthan came back like champions in the second qualifier against Bangalore. Yet again it was Jos Buttler, who is having a dream Indian T20 League season, who got them the win comfortably but it was a match set up by their bowlers.

With 101 wickets in the season, Team Rajasthan are the most prolific bowling unit. It has predominantly been their spinners in Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravichandran Ashwin who have made them stand apart from the rest. We saw Ashwin having an off day in the first qualifier so he’ll have scores to settle in the final. Chahal wasn’t at his best in the previous game against Bangalore but captain Samson will be backing his leg-spinner to put in a match-winning performance in the final and regain his Purple Cap.

With the bat as well, Team Rajasthan have been in record-breaking form. As a batting unit, they have the best strike rate of 140.63. It isn’t surprising to see them top the six hitting chart as well with 133 sixes in the season so far, especially with the kind of form Jos Buttler has been in. Interestingly, their opponents in the final have hit the least sixes in the season, just 75.

Prasidh Krishna and Trent Boult have been one of the best new ball combinations in the season and against a soft top order of Team Gujarat, the management will be backing them to get early inroads in that packed middle order.

Predicted XI: Jos Buttler, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson © (wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, R Ashwin, Trent Boult, Obed McCoy, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna



Ahmedabad will be hosting just the second game of the season with the first one being won comfortably by Team Rajasthan.

The toss will yet again be the key at this venue as the team batting first has a winning ratio of just 20%.

The pitch had some good bounce and pace in it in the previous game and the spinners didn’t have much assistance in the middle phase. There wasn’t any dew in the game so it wouldn’t be absolutely impossible to defend a target on this ground.

Read: Team of the Season From the League Stage of Indian T20 League 2022




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.