Euro 2020 Special

Rohit Sharma to Dhoni: Most Successful Captains in the Indian T20 League

A captain is an integral part of any sports team. In cricket, a captain should have a good understanding of how the game is played with good strategising skills and the ability to lead his teammates on and off the field. To put it more simply, a captain should perform the roles of a part player, part coach and should be able to balance all the roles and responsibilities that come with the job.

Well luckily, the Indian T20 League in its 14 editions has witnessed great captains who have put in all efforts to make their teams win. While few of them have even succeeded in winning the trophy, others have made sure that their team advanced to the knock-offs regularly.

Indian T20 League is one of the most followed sports tournaments around the world and naturally poses some great challenges for all the players, and captains are no exception. While some captains feel the pressure of the two-month extravaganza, others relish their role as a captain and make sure that the team runs smoothly as possible. 

We have made a list of the top five such captains in the history of the Indian T20 League based on their win percentage, which is an indicator of their performance in leading their teams:


Matches: 120, wins: 70, lost: 46

Rohit Sharma stands tall at first place with most title wins. He has bagged five trophies in his eight years as a captain for Team Mumbai. Rohit Sharma joined Team Mumbai in 2011 but took the reins as a captain in 2013. Before joining Mumbai, he was a major player for Team Hyderabad when they were known by a different name. His terrific play has aided Team Hyderabad in winning a trophy as well.  

A prolific run-getter, Rohit Sharma is one of the most naturally gifted batsmen in the world and has been enjoying a tremendous run with the bat. Coming to T20 matches few players can match his striking abilities. Rohit has captained 120 IPL games and won 70 of them totalling the win percentage of 60%.


Matches: 43, wins: 25, lost: 17

Steve Smith takes second place after Rohit Sharma with a win percentage of 59.52. The Australian leg-spinner started his Indian T20 League career in 2012 with Team Pune, where he stayed for two seasons, after which Team Rajasthan picked him to lead their team. But it was at Team Pune that Steve Smith excelled as a captain – in 2017 he led the team to finals, but sadly they had to settle for the runner-up position. He captained 43 matches out of which he won 25, keeping close company to Rohit Sharma in win percentage.


Matches: 51, wins: 30, lost: 21

Sachin Tendulkar was the face of Team Mumbai, captaining the team in the initial years of the tournament, from 2008-2012. With a win percentage of 58.82, he is third on our list. He played a total of 78 matches, scoring 2334 runs. The 2011 edition of the Indian T20 League was also when Sachin Tendulkar scored his only century in T20 cricket. He captained 51 matches out of which Team Mumbai won 30, giving them a win rate of 58.82. He played in the league till 2013 where his last year saw him lift the IPL Trophy for Mumbai Indians. 

Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma both clocked a win rate of nearly 60 per cent for Team Mumbai, and it is no wonder that they are considered the strongest team in the tournament. 


Matches: 192, wins: 113, lost: 78

With a win percentage of 59.16, Captain Cool is in fourth place on our list. He is also the only captain with 100 wins in the Indian T20 League. He helped Team Chennai bag many victories in the league. He has always been the Captain of the Yellow Army, except for one season when he led the Team Pune in 2016. 

The 2018 season of the league added another trophy to Team Chennai under the leadership of Dhoni. The 2019 edition of the league also saw the team reach the finals, but they were unable to bring home the title. While MS Dhoni has retired from his 16-year illustrious career from Team India, he is continuing to don his hat as captain of Team Chennai.


Matches: 12, wins: 7, lost: 5

A surprise entrant on our list, Cameron White took the reins of Team Hyderabad in 2012. He replaced Kumar Sangakarra mid-season when the team was in a tough spot and continued to lead the team in the next edition. With seven wins out of 12 matches, his success percentage is 58.33 in the Indian T20 League, earning him the fifth spot on our list.   




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.