Indian T20 League 2022 – Start Date And Mega Auction Updates

It has not even been four months since Chennai defeated Kolkata at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium to lift the Indian T20 League title for the fourth time, but the focus has already shifted to the 2022 edition.

With the inclusion of two new teams in Ahmedabad and Lucknow, the fifteenth edition of the competition is going to be larger and more competitive than the previous editions, as enthusiasts are in for 74 enthralling matches of supreme quality cricket.

Check out all the major details about Indian T20 League 2022:


Starting Date

According to the reports, the governing body of the Indian T20 League met with representatives of the ten franchises and the BCCI officials in a meeting that took place last Saturday, 22nd January. It has been decided that the 2022 instalment of the annual cricketing extravaganza will commence on 27th March, 2021. Though the date of the final has not been decided yet, reports suggest that the season will span across 60+days.



Given the meteoric rise in the number of COVID-19 cases detected across the nation, it seems extremely unlikely that fans will be able to flock to the stadiums to witness live action from the 2022 Indian T20 League.

The last edition was also played behind closed doors, initially in four cities – Delhi, Ahmedabad, Mumbai and Chennai, before it came to a halt and had to be resumed in the United Arab Emirates.

In a bid to avoid logistical difficulties, the governing body is reportedly inclined towards hosting the competition in only one city – Mumbai. The business capital of India will be a perfect fit since it boasts of three world-class stadiums – Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium and the D.Y. Patil Stadium.

The organizers have also kept a Plan B and C ready, in case it is not at all plausible to host the competition in India. South Africa, which hosted the 2009 edition of the competition, is one of the two countries being discussed as an alternate venue, with the United Arab Emirates being the other one.




The mega auction of the 2022 Indian T20 League will reportedly be held inBengaluru on 12th and 13th February, 2022. Though there were fears of a potential clash with an ODI game between India and West Indies, it has now been resolved as that match will be played on 11th Februaryinstead.


Registered Players

A total of 1,214 players have registered for the mega auction of the 2022 Indian T20 League. 896 of these players are Indian, of which 61 players have represented the nation. 318 overseas players have also thrown their hat into the mix, with 209 of them being capped players. The associate representation is also strong this time with 41 registrations, while like always, this auction is expected to provide quite a few rags to riches stories, as a whopping 692 uncapped Indians will go under the hammer.

Among the overseas players, Australia has the highest number of registrations (59), closely followed by South Africa (48) and West Indies (41). Namibia, who caught many by surprise in the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup, has five registrations, while 15 Nepali players will go under the hammer.

The highest base price has remained INR 2 crores and 49 players have set the maximum starting amount for them, 32 of them being overseas players. Faf du Plessis, Pat Cummins, Chris Jordan, Dwayne Bravo, Kagiso Rabada, Shakib Al Hasan, Quinton de Kock and Steve Smith are among the overseas players who have set an INR 2 crores base price for themselves.

Here is the list of 17Indian players for whom the bidding war will start at INR 2 crores – Ambati Rayudu, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Devdutt Padikkal, Dinesh Karthik, Harshal Patel, Ishan Kishan, Krunal Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Robin Uthappa, Shardul Thakur, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suresh Raina, Umesh Yadav & Yuzvendra Chahal.


Retained Players And Remaining Purse

The ten franchises have retained a total of 33 players, of which 23 are Indian players and the remaining 10 are overseas cricketers. At INR 17 crores, KL Rahul is the most expensive retained player, while Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Umran Malik and Abdul Samad are the least expensive. All of them have an INR 4 Crcontract. Let us have a look at the list of retained players and the remaining purse of all the ten teams:



Retained Players – Ravindra Jadeja (INR 16 crore), MS Dhoni (INR 12 crore), Moeen Ali (INR 8 crore), Rituraj Gaikwad (INR 6 crore)

Remaining Purse – 48 crore



Retained Players – Rishab Pant (INR 16 crore), Axar Patel (INR 9 crore), Prithvi Shaw (INR 7.5 crore), Anrich Nortje (INR 4 crore)

Remaining Purse – 47.5 crore



Retained Players – Andre Russell (INR 12 crore), Venkatesh Iyer (INR 8 crore), Varun Chakravarthy (INR 8 crore) Sunil Narine (INR 6 crore)

Remaining Purse – 48 crore



Retained Players – Rohit Sharma (INR 16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (INR 12 crore), Surya Kumar Yadav (INR 8 crore), Pollard (INR 6 crore)

Remaining Purse – 48 crore



Retained Players – Mayank Agarwal (INR 12 crore), AINRhdeep Singh (INR 4 crore)

Remaining Purse – 72 crore



Retained Players – Sanju Samson (INR 14 crore), Jos Butler (INR 10 crore), Abdul Samad (INR 4 crore)

Remaining Purse – 62 crore



Retained Players – Virat Kohli (INR 15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (INR 11 crore) and Mohammed Siraj (INR 7 crore)

Remaining Purse – 57 crore



Retained Players – Kane Williamson (INR 14 crore), Umar Malik (INR 4 crore), Yashasvi Jaiswal

Remaining Purse – 68 crore



Retained Players – Hardik Pandya (INR 15 crore), Rashid Khan (INR 15 crore), Shubman Gill  (INR 8 crore)

Remaining Purse – 52 crore



Retained Players – KL Rahul (INR 17 crore), Marcus Stoinis (INR 9.2 crore), Ravi Bishnoi  (INR 6.5 crore)

Remaining Purse – 59 crore




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.