Euro 2020 Special

Chahal, Bumrah and Kohli Rested For T20I Series Against West Indies

The BCCI recently announced an eighteen-member squad for the five-match T20I series in the Caribbean starting July 29. The biggest talking point from this squad announcement has been the exclusion of some big names. Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah and Virat Kohli have all been given a break from this series. It gives a perfect opportunity for the team to test its ever-growing bench strength against a competitive side. Here’s our squad analysis for the T20I side chosen for the tour of the West Indies.



Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda

Captain Rohit Sharma may be missing the ODI leg of this tour but will be back in blue leading the team for this T20I series. He will have his permanent deputy, KL Rahul back subject to a fitness test. The other three batters Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Hooda have all kept their spots in the team. Former captain Virat Kohli has been rested from the entire tour and the selectors will be hoping that this rest would do him a world of good.



Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Dinesh Karthik

The wicketkeeping department is one with massive depth for the national side. The number one choice Rishabh Pant is available for selection for this series and alongside him, there is Ishan Kishan and Dinesh Karthik who could do the job when called upon.



Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel

India may have finalised their all-round options and the three selected for this tour, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel might just be the ones who make it to the World Cup squad.



Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin

The spin department is one where the team is willing to experiment with ahead of the tournament. India’s premier spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been given a deserved break. In Chahal’s absence, the onus will be on Ravi Bishnoi to be India’s top spinner.

Kuldeep Yadav and R Ashwin have found a back to the squad, the former’s selection will be subject to a fitness test.



Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

World’s number pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been rested from this tour. It will give a chance for the team management to give the likes of Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh more game time. The other two, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel are established players in the department.

India’s squad for T20Is: Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*The inclusion of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav is subject to fitness.

Read: Are the Selectors Chopping and Changing the Indian Squad Too Regularly?




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.