Euro 2020 Special

Andrew Tye Called Up for the Australian White-Ball Squad

Summer in Australia can mean only one thing, a big cricket series is around the corner and time for players like Andrew Tye and Hanuma Vihari to shine. Cricket is one of the most popular sports in the country and is termed as the national summer sport. In an unprecedented year, we’re lucky to have one of the most anticipated series being played down under as India is all set to take on the Aussies with chances that limited fans will be allowed to catch the action live from the stadium.

The Indian team has already reached Australian shores and after completing a mandatory quarantine period, the boys are back in the nets ready to sweat it out. At the start of the month Cricket Australia had announced a 18-man squad for the white-ball edition of the series. In latest developments, fast bowler Kane Richardson has pulled out of the series in order to stay home with his newborn son and wife. He’s being replaced by fellow fast bowler Andrew Tye who is looking to play for Australia after a gap of almost two years.

Andrew Tye was a part of Australia’s tour of the United Kingdom this year where they managed to beat England in the T20I series. Andrew was also a part of the recently concluded Indian T20 League with Team Rajasthan but managed to play only one match for the team which finished at rock bottom in the league table. This was his first professional match since November 2019 when he had to undergo an elbow surgery.

His selection in the white-ball squad is a curious one as he has got the nod ahead of the likes of Nathan Coulter-Nile and James Pattinson who had a major impact on Team Mumbai going on to win the 2020 edition of the Indian T20 League. He is consistently ranked as a white-ball specialist by the Australian selectors and in the limited opportunities he has got at the international level, he hasn’t done anything wrong to damage that reputation.

The Australian white-ball squad also features the likes of Cameron Green – a highly rated young all-rounder and Moises Henriques who deserves this call up after a prolific season with the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League which they eventually won.

The Australian G.O.A.T off-spinner, Nathan Lyon has been saved for the four-match Test series to be held later in the year while Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar will take the responsibility of slow bowling in the limited overs team. The Test squad features five uncapped rising stars of Australian cricket in Will Pucovski, Cameron Green, Mitchell Swepson, Michael Nesser and Sean Abbott.

Australia are the world number one T20 International side and they are up against one of their greatest rivals in India. The Indians are coming into this series on the back of a gruelling yet a very successful season in the Indian T20 League. This tour promises to be a blockbuster one yet again.

The series will begin at Sydney on November 27 with three match ODI series followed by three T20Is and four Test matches stretching the series till January 19th.

Australia ODI & T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Andrew Tye, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Read: Shreyas Iyer to KL Rahul: Best XI of Indian T20 League 2020




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.