A Detailed Look at the 2021 T20 World Cup Schedule

Earlier in August, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the 2021 T20 World Cup schedule. The tournament was originally scheduled to take place last year in Australia but got delayed like many other major sporting events due to the Covid-19 pandemic. It was then rescheduled to take place in India but due to the high infection rate of the country, the tournament has now been moved to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman.

The seventh edition of the tournament comprises 16 teams and the hosting rights remain with the BCCI even though the tournament is being held in UAE and Oman. Hosts India and nine other top teams in the ICC Men’s T20I Rankings received direct entries to the tournament. The top eight were placed directly in the Super 12s and the next two, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are joined by Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland. They would compete in the Qualifier event in the group stage while being divided into two groups. Two teams each from the group stage will join the eight direct entrants to complete the Super 12s line-up.

Oman will take on Papua New Guinea in the opening match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground on 17 October. Round 1 will go on till October 22 and post that the Super 12s would become centre stage. The twelve teams are divided into two groups of six each. The Super 12 stage commences from October 23 with a fixture between Australia and South Africa at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The highly-anticipated clash from the Super 12 between India and Pakistan will be played on October 24 in Dubai. Another big-ticket encounter in this round includes England and Australia also playing in Dubai on October 30. The top two teams from the two Super 12 groups will play the semi-finals. The first on November 10 in Abu Dhabi and the second on November 11 in Dubai. Both the semi-finals will have reserve days in case of any delays.

Here’s how the 2021 T20 World Cup schedule looks like:


Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman

(Top two teams from each group advance to Super 12s)

17 Oct: Oman v Papua New Guinea, Muscat (14h00); Bangladesh v Scotland, Muscat

18 Oct: Ireland v Netherlands, Abu Dhabi (14h00); Sri Lanka v Namibia, Abu Dhabi

19 Oct: Scotland v PNG, Muscat (14h00); Oman v Bangladesh, Muscat

20 Oct: Namibia v Netherlands, Abu Dhabi (14h00); Sri Lanka v Ireland, Abu Dhabi

21 Oct: Bangladesh v Papua New Guinea, Muscat (14h00); Oman v Scotland, Muscat

22 Oct: Namibia v Ireland, Sharjah (14h00); Sri Lanka v Netherlands, Sharjah


Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B1.

(Top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals)

23 Oct: Australia v South Africa, Abu Dhabi; England v West Indies, Dubai

24 Oct: A1 v B2, Sharjah; India v Pakistan, Dubai

25 Oct: Afghanistan v B1, Sharjah

26 Oct: South Africa v West Indies, Dubai; Pakistan v New Zealand, Sharjah

27 Oct: England v B2, Abu Dhabi; B1 v A2, Abu Dhabi

28 Oct: Australia v A1, Dubai

29 Oct: West Indies v B2, Sharjah; Pakistan v Afghanistan, Dubai

30 Oct: South Africa v A1, Sharjah; Australia v England, Dubai

31 Oct: Afghanistan v A2, Abu Dhabi; India v New Zealand, Dubai

1 Nov: England v A1, Sharjah

2 Nov: South Africa v B2, Abu Dhabi; Pakistan v A2, Abu Dhabi

3 Nov: New Zealand v B1, Dubai; India v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi

4 Nov: Australia v B2, Dubai; West indies v A1, Abu Dhabi

5 Nov: New Zealand v A2, Sharjah; India v B1, Dubai

6 Nov: Australia v West Indies, Abu Dhabi; England v South Africa, Sharjah

7 Nov: New Zealand v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi, Pakistan v B1, Sharjah

8 Nov: India v A2, Dubai


Knock-out stage

10 Nov: Semi-final 1 (A1 v B2), Abu Dhabi

11 Nov: Semi-final 2 (B1 v A2), Dubai 14 Nov: Final, Dubai




Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.